Book of Haikus MOBI à Book of Epub / Paperback


  • Paperback
  • 240 pages
  • Book of Haikus
  • Jack Kerouac
  • English
  • 09 March 2018
  • 9780142002643

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Book of HaikusRemember the old Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup commercial where two people collide? “You got peanut butter on my chocolate!” “You got chocolate in my peanut butter!” And the rest is delicious magic? Well, that was me picking up Jack Kerouac’s Book of Haikus I love haiku And I love Kerouac But I was skeptical about the combination Fortunately, I ended up as pleasantly surprised as the clumsy snackers.This volume includes the poems Kerouac selected for his Book of Haikus as well as poems gathered from his novels and notebooks The poems from Book of Haikus are superior to the others, yet they make up less than half of the volume I have mixed feelings about the inclusion of so many poems from Kerouac’s novels and notebooks On the one hand, I can see how they would be of interest to those studying the development of Kerouac’s art, but on the other hand, they lower the quality of the volume as a whole Although I appreciate editor Regina Weinreich’s dedication to her project, I think she does Kerouac a disservice by padding the book with weaker poems That said, the poems Kerouac selected for Book of Haikus are impressive I think Basho would be proud Here are a few of my favorites.“Quiet moonlit night—Neighbor boy studyingBy telescope; —‘Ooo!’ ” (16)“In back of the supermarketin the parking lot weeds,Purple flowers” (18)“Glow worm sleepingon this flower,Your light’s on! ” (27)Kerouac’s threeline poems are not composed of seventeen syllables, but they are faithful to the spirit of Japanese haiku A haiku has two elements: an observation of nature and a sudden perception Moreover, Basho identified the aesthetic of haiku as one of Karumi, or lightness I think Kerouac’s poems succeed in achieving both the form and the aesthetic of haiku Among the notebook poems, I found one that seems to be an earlier version of another one of my favorites Here is the poem in Book of Haikus.“Bee, why are youstaring at me?I’m not a flower!” (15)Here is the poem from the notebooks.“Am I a flowerbee, that youStare at me?” (155) Weinreich says that Kerouac revised his poems This is not something that Kerouac did with his other writings It seems likely to me that the poem from the notebook was revised into the poem included in Book of Haikus “Am I a flower” is moved from the first line to the third line where it becomes an exclamation instead of a question The whole poem builds up to it “I’m not a flower!”The address to the bee is moved from the second line to the first line This is simpler anddirect In the earlier poem the address to the bee occurs in the middle of the question This dilutes the effect of the question The reader of the revised poem knows right from the start that the question is addressed to the bee Addressing the bee in the middle also makes the earlier poem a single complex sentence whereas the revised poem follows the traditional Japanese form of an observation of nature followed by a sudden perception with these two elements divided by a Kireji, or cutting word In English, the function of the Kireji is often performed by a dash or other punctuation mark The first part of the revised poem ~“Bee, why are you/staring at me?” ~ is the question addressed to the bee and the second part of the poem ~ “I’m not a flower!” ~ is the sudden, surprising, and humorous reaction of the speaker This comparison between the notebook poem and the Book of Haikus poem is revealing The poems from Book of Haikus ~ like the haiku of Basho ~ have the feeling of spontaneity, but they are instead carefully crafted poems The appearance of spontaneity is evidence of the talent of the poet I am happy to shelve Kerouac’s Book of Haikus alongside my other volumes of haiku Unless it better belongs with my Beat Generation books Perhaps I should find out where the peanut butter cups are shelved in the supermarket—with the peanut butter or with the chocolate But wherever I put Book of Haikus, it has turned out to be a serendipitous discovery for me. Renowned for his groundbreaking Beat Generation novel On the Road, Jack Kerouac was also a master of the haiku, the threeline, seventeensyllable Japanese poetic form Following in the tradition of Basho, Buson, Shiki, Issa, and other poets, Kerouac experimented with this centuriesold genre, taking it beyond strict syllable counts into what he believed was the form’s essence He incorporated his ‘American’ haiku in novels and in his correspondence, notebooks, journals, sketchbooks, and recordings In this beautifully packaged volume, Kerouac scholar Regina Weinreich has supplemented a core haiku manuscript from Kerouac’s archives with a generous selection of the rest of his haikus, from both published and unpublished sources The result is a compact collection of than five hundred poems that reveal a lesser known but important side of Jack Kerouac’s literary legacy Never been a big fan of Kerouac, but this was one of the best Haiku collections I have ever read. Collection of short poems Kerouac wrote over several years Most of them are three lines, a few are two liners He doesn't build the poem on the 17 syllable construction, so I would call them micro poems rather than haiku They were written at a time when he was taking a look at Buddhism Most of them have the flavor of traditional Japanese haiku with reference to nature with reference to the moon and all that, but my favorites are a littleunique The one about the fly in the medicine cabinet who died of old age and the one about the rain puddle cleaning the soles of his shoes were memorable Kerouac was a hard core artist, who else would write little poems?If you're interested in learningabout Kerouac, this little book is worth checking out of the library. Eh, Kerouac as a poet If you are interested in haiku, or in the ways Eastern poetic forms and sensibilities have been imported to the west, if I were you, I would read Gary Snyder, who helped import haiku to the beats and that generation in this country Snyder is a serious poet and serious Buddhist, who inspired Kerouac and other beats, but none of them did work to match what Snyder did Book of Haikus compiler and introducer Weinrich makes a case for this book as both serious poetry and irreverent (Kerouac called his American haiku pops), but I'm not convinced There are some decent haiku in this large collection, collected attractively in a small book format, and if you are a Kerouac completist, (as I kinda am) you will want to own this, but for most readers interested in Kerouac and/or haiku, I would just read Kerouac's fiction. HAHAHA KEROUAC IS SO FUNNY I THOUGHT THIS WAS GONNA BE A SERIOUS BOOK BUT NOOOOOPE although towards the end they do getsombre after he succumbs to alcoholism here r some of my favorites:some are really pretty the top of jack / mountain done in / by golden cloudsand some are terribly lonely racing westward through / the clouds in the howling/ wind, the moon some are weird and entertaining the cow, taking a big / dreamy crap, turning / to look at me some are so sassy train tunnel, too dark/for me to write: that/ men are ignorant some are endearingly quirky i made raspberry fruit jello/ the color of rubies / in the setting sun some are just endearing if i go out now, / my paws / will get wet (which is frm the pov of his cat!) and some are funny af here comes / my dragon / goodbye! The beauty of haikuI suppose the beauty particularly of the haiku found in this volume, coming as it does from a prosaic Western perspective and being transmitted to a prosaic Western mind/readeris that there is simultaneously a a degree of specificity and universality to the images (or, if you like, symbols) evoked I have observed images so similar to some described in this book, that it is almost as though Kerouac's shade were what I'd mistaken for that cast by the tall birch in a park once sat beneathhim with with a ghostly notebook, scribbling my unconsciously dharmic doings unbeknownst to me Attention is love,and love and hate arealmost one mostly in choosing their object and that (object of)one can so easily become the other contingency Hitch hiked a thousand miles and broughtYou wineHolding up my purring cat to the moonI sighed= my new definition of Kerouac.A remarkable and thoughtprovoking collection.You'd be surprised how little I knewEven up to yesterdayTake a cup of water from the oceanAnd there I am Most people only know of Jack Kerouac as the author of On the Road, but this book demonstrates that he has skills in other areas too Kerouac’s haiku often stick to the traditional form of 575, but he does sometimes experiment too, and often with eastern forms that he discovered through his forays into Buddhism and other eastern religions.I only have one real gripe with this book – the writing itself is pretty epic, and I really enjoy the way that Kerouac invokes nature and natural themes in to his writing, in the fine traditions of the oldest of the old haiku writers That said, I’m pretty sure that the plural of ‘haiku’ is ‘haiku’, and so I do get kind of annoyed by that.Overall, though, it’s a delightful little book, and one that you could fit in to your pocket fairly easily What’s , it’s the sort of book that you can dip in and out of, although I have to admit that I read it from cover to cover because that’s the kind of reader I am. and in an unexpected move, a collection of haikus ends up being one of the best things to ever come from Jack Kerouac


About the Author: Jack Kerouac

Jack Kerouac was born Jean Louis Lebris de Kerouac on March 12, 1922, in Lowell, Massachusetts Jack Kerouac's writing career began in the 1940s, but didn't meet with commercial success until 1957, when On the Road was published The book became an American classic that defined the Beat Generation Kerouac died on October 21, 1969, from an abdominal hemorrhage, at age 47.