The Quantum Astrologer's Handbook: a history of the


The Quantum Astrologer's Handbook: a history of the Renaissance mathematics that birthed imaginary numbers, probability, and the new physics of the universe A book of science like no other, about a scientist like no other This is a landmark in science writing It resurrects from the vaults of neglect the polymath Jerome Cardano, a Milanese of the sixteenth century Who is he A gambler and blasphemer, inventor and chancer, plagued by demons and anxieties, astrologer to kings, emperors and popes This stubborn and unworldly man was the son of a lawyer and a brothel keeper, but also a gifted physician and the unacknowledged discoverer of the mathematical foundations of quantum physics That is the argument of this charming and intoxicatingly clever book, which is truly original in its style, and in the manner of the modernists embodies in its very form its theories about the world The Quantum Astrologer s Handbook is a science book with the panache of a novel, for readers of Carlo Rovelli or Umberto Eco It is a work of and about genius

  • Paperback
  • The Quantum Astrologer's Handbook: a history of the Renaissance mathematics that birthed imaginary numbers, probability, and the new physics of the universe
  • Michael Brooks
  • 23 April 2018
  • 1911344404

About the Author: Michael Brooks

Is a well known author, some of his books are a fascination for readers like in the The Quantum Astrologer's Handbook: a history of the Renaissance mathematics that birthed imaginary numbers, probability, and the new physics of the universe book, this is one of the most wanted Michael Brooks author readers around the world.



13 thoughts on “The Quantum Astrologer's Handbook: a history of the Renaissance mathematics that birthed imaginary numbers, probability, and the new physics of the universe

  1. Bogdan Antonescu Bogdan Antonescu says:

    This is a very interesting and atypical book in which the biography of the Italian Renaissance polymath Jerome Cardano 1501 1576 is mixed with discussions about quantum mechanics Michael Brooks, the author of the book, is calling his approach magical realist non fiction I really liked the magic realism aspect of the book, but I am not going give any details because I do not want to spoil the book As for the non fiction aspect, there are two main threads The first one and the main reason for which I decided to read this book is about the life and works of Jerome Cardano Cardano had an extraordinary life, he was a mathematician, physician, astronomer, inventor, writer, and philosopher, but also an astrologer, and gambler I remember learning at school about Cardano s contributions to mathematics, in particular to algebra, and I knew about the Cardan shaft a mechanical component for transmitting torque and rotation , but I had no idea about his contributions to the probability theory see Liber de Ludo Aleae Book on Games of Chance, written around 1564 and published 1663 and imaginary numbers Probability theory and the imaginary numbers are the connexions to the second thread of the book as they are the twin pillars of quantum theory The second thread of the book not only contains a description of the foundations of quantum mechanics but also descriptions of some of the main interpretation of quantum mechanics e.g., the Copenhagen interpretation, the many worlds interpretation.Decision recommended.

  2. Karsten Müller Karsten Müller says:

    I enjoyed this book very much It has the same poetic feeling as books by Alan Lightman and Mario Livio The material is related in a clear and interesting way Highly recommended

  3. CL CL says:

    Enjoyable read Nice blend of history, fiction and science presented in an entertaining engaging way Science content is kept at simple and accessible level

  4. Crispin Flagstaff Crispin Flagstaff says:

    Bought as a present Enjoyed I believe

  5. sadovidsporn.co Customer sadovidsporn.co Customer says:

    was he an astrologer disappointed.

  6. Kindle customer Kindle customer says:

    Scope Merging science, historic community involvement, and individual contribution Most unusual book.

  7. William H. William H. says:

    The book is fine, arrived not in the best condition though

  8. Danilo Poccia Danilo Poccia says:

    Mixing history and science, this book is a great introduction to quantum mechanics and the life of Gerolamo Cardano, one of those Renaissance geniuses crossing so many different fields, from medicine to mathematics.

  9. Chris K Chris K says:

    The fictional conceit of narrator interacting with studied historical subject is executed masterfully and so cleverly employed to illustrate the theme of the book Entertaining and informative, I was sincerely saddened when I ran out of its pages to read.

  10. Neil S. Rieck Neil S. Rieck says:

    This book is about Jerome Cardano, a mathematician, astronomer, astrologer and physician living in sixteenth century Italy If you want a glimpse of how mathematics and science developed during the Renaissance from the perspective of one man arrested during the Inquisition, then this book is for you Your inner nerd will soar mine did

  11. Mermade Mermade says:

    I m a lover of non fiction informational books, but I have to say I am pleasantly surprised by this story It s such a great blend of story and informational mix science vs metaphysical Highly recommend

  12. Don Le Don Le says:

    It was actually super interesting read with alot of overview about actual mathematical and quantum history I wonder if I can time travel

  13. jpjmarti jpjmarti says:

    I liked the idea of mixing discussion of quantum physics with the biography of Cardano Such an unlikely mix that it was instantly fascinating.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *